We Have a 4-Year-Old

Our little boy turned 4 on Christmas Day.

As a mother, its hard to express in words just how much you love your children.  Perhaps those words don’t even exist. I sent a text to Mike last week after Luke said something incredibly profound and hilarious at the same time that said, ” How in the world and why in the world did God choose me to be His mom?  I’m so blessed!” Really, that is the way I feel about my little guy.  So incredibly blessed to be his momma!  We have our hard moments, and we’ve even had some hard seasons where disciplining and training are a constant but in even in those times I wouldn’t trade him for anything!

I haven’t written this post yet because I haven’t known how I wanted to write it.  I wrote Elle a letter on her 1st birthday.  But I’ve wondered how to express my feelings and impart some truth into Luke on his 4th birthday so I’m just getting around to it.  (It doesn’t help that the little guy’s birthday is on Christmas-the most busiest time of the year! 😉 )

I’ve decided to just post the characteristics I see in Luke and how I pray God will use them in His future.

Luke, you have such a zeal for life!  You find enjoyment in almost everything.  You look forward to “what’s next.”  You are constantly asking me, “What’s next, Mommy?”  “What time will we do such and such?”  You love everything about life.  I love watching that in you.  Never loose that!  God has great plans for your future and that is something to be joyful about!

Luke, you are inspired and energized by people.  I have seen you shy only a handful of times. Even as a baby, you were always smiling and waving and saying, “Hi-yah,” to everyone you came in contact with.  You never buried your head in Mommy or turned away from a person. You love people! I believe God is going to use your love of people for His glory in your life.

Luke, you are so affectionate.  You are always full of hugs and kisses for your Daddy, Mommy, and your sister.  The other morning I was getting you dressed and you looked at me and said, “Mommy, you are so pretty!  I’m so glad you are my Mommy!”  And then you gave me the biggest bear hug.  For no reason.  Just because.  When Daddy is leaving in the mornings for work, you want him to hug you over and over and over just because you love his big bear hugs.  A month ago, I heard you say to Elle, again for no reason, “Elle, I will always love you and protect you.”  I pray you will always be tenderhearted and affectionate sharing the love of Jesus with everyone you come in contact with.

Luke, you are full of knowledge.  Reading at 22 months!  Bypassing preschool basics by 2. And already grasping the concept of multiplication tables at 3.  It simply amazes me.  I’m blown away everyday by the knowledge the Lord imparted into you so early.  But Luke, I pray everyday that He would impart even greater wisdom into than He has knowledge.  Knowledge-it might get you an A, a college degree, and an easy life in school.  But those things are temporary, fleeting-they last only a blink of an eye.  Wisdom-its eternal.  It will keep you from harm and be your shield.  Luke, I pray weekly, Proverbs 2 over you.  Hide that chapter in your heart always.

Luke, you are full of energy!  You love ALL sports.  It just depends on what season it is and that is your favorite sport.   You were given soccer goal/pitchback, football, baseball and football cards, basketball goal, bases and pitcher’s mound, baseball bat, soccer ball, hockey sticks and puck, all for Christmas.  You haven’t stopped playing them.  I’ll never forget Christmas morning you walked downstairs and saw your goal and pitchback and exclaimed, “Well this is certainly sports!”  I love this about you.

Luke, God has a perfect place for you in life for all the attributes he has placed within you.  Long for him!  Earn for him. He will always be your deepest satisfaction.  Put your hope, trust, and faith in Him always!  Because He has it under control!

“Oh Lord, be gracious to Luke;

May Luke long for you.

Be his strength every morning,

his salvation in times of distress.

At the thunder of you voice, the peoples flee;

when you rise up, the nations scatter.

Your plunder, O nations, is harvested as by young locusts;

like a swarm of locusts men pounce on it.

The Lord is exalted for he dwells on high;

he will fill you, Luke, with justice and righteousness.

He will be the sure foundation for your times,

a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge;

Luke, the fear of the Lord is the key to this treasure!”

Isaiah 33:2-6

We took a 4th birthday interview.

Happy Birthday to my sweet boy!  You are such a blessing to our family!!!

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Have a 4-Year-Old

  1. Fran Tate says:

    What a wonderful birthday gift for Luke. He is such a wonderful boy. Great Aunt Fran

Leave a Reply

