Southwestern Grilled Tuna Salad

I was running out of time yesterday so I din’t get to post my Southwestern Grilled Tuna Salad recipe.  I’m doing a bible study on Tuesday nights so my afternoons are always really tight on Tuesdays and Wednesdays-since we have life group that night.  Not to mention, I work out during the kid’s afternoon naps and church is 40 minutes away.  As much as I try to plan and schedule, those afternoons and early evenings seem to get pretty hectic.

Those are the nights that are perfect for a meal like this.  The star ingredient is Trader Joe’s Cilantro Marinated Tuna Steaks.

The best part is this price!

$5.33!  Where can you get a 1 lb. of marinated Tuna Steaks for $5?  And they are wild caught. I know they aren’t completely “green” since they are a product of Singapore but you have to give and take when working with a budget.

This salad literally takes 15-20 minutes to throw together.  I made it up on the fly on Monday night.  We were planning on having the tuna steaks with brown rice and green beans but it was Monday.  I needed something to jazz up the Monday blahs!  So I asked Mike, “how about throwing this on top of a Mexican-type salad?”  Mike is always up for Mexican so he agreed.

The one thing I love about cooking is you can adapt recipes to what you have.  We had corn, red peppers, white cheddar cheese, an avocado, chips, and refried beans.  I would have liked tomatoes too and to sub black beans for the refried beans but instead of running to the store I just worked with what I had.  So here is my recipe:

  • 1 head of romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 1 package of Trader Joe’s cilantro marinated tuna steaks
  • 1/2 c crushed tortilla chips
  • 1/4 of a red pepper, diced
  • 1/4 c refried beans
  • 1/2 an avocado, diced
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese (monterrey jack, mexican queso cheese, cheddar)
  • 1/3 cup thawed corn

Cook tuna according to directions on package.  Make sure to top with all the marinade while cooking.  Don’t throw that liquid gold out! Then assemble in a bowl.  

The dressing makes this salad.  Mike is not a fan of vinaigrettes but he said he could eat this every night.  

Dressing Recipe

  • 3 T olive oil
  • 3 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 1 jalepeno pepper, seeded and chopped (I didn’t add this since my kids were eating the salad too.)
  • 2 T honey
  • 1 T dijon mustard
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/4 t pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 T fresh cilantro, chopped

Whisk together.  Pour over the salad and serve!

I loves salads that don’t taste like you are eating rabbit food.  This one is definitely one of those recipes!  It has so much flavor.  We devoured the entire bowl in 1 sitting!

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

