Acting like an Isrealite

I try to read the Bible through each year.  Some years it takes me longer.  This last time it took me almost 2 years!  I suppose the move, having a baby and a toddler, and a few Bible studies I did during the time slowed me down a bit.  But really, there are no excuses.  Thankful for God’s grace no matter what season of life we are in.

I have to be honest though, I usually do great with my reading through Genesis and Exodus but get really off track in Leviticus.  It is a slow book to read.  This time I’ve solved it by coupling it with the book of Psalms-one of my favorite books in the Bible so I’ve stayed more on track this year.

The other thing I did to help my reading this year is start in the New Testament.  That way I wouldn’t slow down in the 3rd book of the Bible and get discouraged. And since I started in the New Testment, I’ve been reading through the Old Testament the last couple of months.

As I’ve read, Exodus, Leviticus, and Numbers I keep finding myself shaking my head at those stubborn Isrealites.  Its hard for me to fathom how those Isrealite can question God and His control and even serve other Gods after all the signs and wonders He did for them-a cloud by day and fire by night to follow, water from the rock, manna from heaven, the parting of the Red Sea, etc., etc., etc.

Gosh, I could only dream of seeing those kind of manifestations in my lifetime!

The Isrealites got see firsthand unfathomable miracles yet they grumbled, complained, questioned, and even turned their backs on God.  It seems so hard to understand!

But does it?  

The other morning during my quiet time I was praying and talking to God bout a question I have and whether He is leading me in that direction or not.  I kept saying, “Lord, I just need to know.  Please show me.  I don’t want to miss you.” Immediately, I was reminded of the Isrealites and how God kept providing for them and giving them signs that He was with them yet they continued to question Him.

God has been leading me in this area of question.  I have felt nudged and pulled to the answer.  Yet, I’ve been resistant to fully accept it is God.  I know its my flesh.  Because my flesh doesn’t want to.

I am acting like an Isrealite.  Not trusting that God is in control and that he isn’t ordering my steps just because I can’t see the big picture.

Proverbs 37:32 says, “The steps of a man are established by the LORD, And He delights in his way. When he falls, he will not be hurled headlong, Because the LORD is the One who holds his hand.”

As long as we are seeking to follow the Lord with our whole heart, He is not going to let us fall.  He is ordering each of our steps.

We just have to faith it!  Put our faith in Him as we take each step and are obedient to his leading.

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Acting like an Isrealite

  1. Gary Tucker says:

    This is really good Erin.. and so true. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

