Barbecue Chicken Recipe

I wanted to post the barbecue chicken recipe I made for dinner tonight for 2 reasons.

  1. It was scrumptious!
  2. But mostly, I want to get my husband’s bare chest pictures off from the top of my blog.  🙂  We posted it because we were amazed at the results last night when we compared the 2 pictures. We thought it might inspire someone else, and who doesn’t love a great before/after shot?  But now that it has been at the top of my blog for almost 24 hours, it is time to post something else.  I mean, I don’t want anyone stumbling because he does look pretty fabulous BUT he is married!  Hahaha!!

The key to a great grilled bone-in chicken recipe is a brine.  A brine keeps the chicken so moist, and it costs next to nothing unlike a marinade.  Plus a brine isn’t hard at all!

Barbecue Chicken

Brine


Add 2 T raw sugar and 4 T Kosher salt to 3 cups of boiling water.  Let cool.  Place 2 pieces of bone in chicken into a dish that just fits the chicken and pour brine over.  Brine for up to 24 hours.  I did mine after lunch today so it brined for 5-6 hours, and it was great!

Grill chicken on medium heat till internal temperature reaches 180 degrees-it took mine about 25 minutes (15 minutes on 1 side and 10 on the other).  Then baste with your favorite barbecue sauce.  I made a huge recipe of barbecue sauce on Sunday since I had some crushed tomatoes in the fridge I needed to get rid of. But any sauce will work. Serve with extra sauce and enjoy!

We ate ours with steamed broc and  my “Healthy Macaroni Cheese.”  I put it in quotes because really no macaroni and cheese is healthy but I did lighten mine up quite a bit and switched used whole wheat pasta, flour, and bread crumbs.  It was quite yummy!

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

