Have you Lost any Weight on Insanity?

I’m always googling people’s Insanity experiences so I wanted to post mine.

I’m on Week 8 of the program.  I started May 23rd.  I did the “Recovery Week” (Humorous it is called that!  It is still a tough workout.) in between the Starter phase and the Max Phase of the program.  Also, I took the week of June 27th off and started back July 5th.

So the big question….have you lost any weight? Heck No!  Yes, a super intense work out, and I haven’t lost a pound.  Ok, maybe 2 but that might even be stretching it.  The fact is the numbers on the scale are the same every morning.  Which is odd in itself, I’ve always differed in weight up to 3 lbs. from day to day.  But now the numbers don’t move. Have you lost inches?  Yes!  5 1/2 inches to be exact.  Unfortunately,  most of those inches did not come from my mom belly, though.  🙂

I will admit, I’ve gotten VERY frustrated at times since I haven’t been able to lose pounds.  Because the bottom line to me is a pound is a pound.  I don’t care that muscle weighs more.  I don’t like the number I see still. But I’ve continued to push through, and on most days I’m glad I did.

My clothes are fitting better.  I’ve actually bought sizes 2 sizes smaller than I did before I started-which I still think is a fluke.   But I can tell I’m thinner and firmer so I’m satisfied.

Have I followed the 60 day plan to a T? No, but close.  On the days I just don’t feel like I can push play and listen to Sean T again, I’ll run 3-4 miles, get on the elliptical for 40 minutes, do a P90x video, do a family hike, swim laps at the pool for 30 minutes and then come home and do Cardio Abs or Max Insane Abs if I’m really feeling motivated.

Have I followed the nutrition plan to a T? No but this is because I have trouble fitting in 5 meals a day.  I’m eating 4 meals.  My “snack” meal is a protein smoothie after my workout.  I’ve always been a healthy eater so my diet hasn’t changed much – sticking to real, unprocessed food.  I’ve just not let myself go back for seconds.  I’ve also allowed myself 2 cheat meals a week.  This might be fajitas with whole wheat tortillas with chips and salsa (mmmmm…..manna from heaven!) or adding a whole grain bread and a light dessert to my meal – still considering my portions.  Its not cheeseburger, fries, and milkshake or an Alfredo pasta, bread, salad, and dessert.  (I don’t go overboard on my cheat meals is what I’m saying.)

Friday, I added whey protein, an energy multivitamin, and 30 additional minutes on the elliptical 4-5 days a week to see if that makes a difference.  I can definitely tell a difference in my energy levels which is why I can probably make it through additional exercise and still have the energy to do everything else!

Overall, I’m happy I did it.  I haven’t gotten the results I was hoping for but I can’t complain.  It took 18 months and 2 major surgeries to get the mom belly (my core has always been my trouble area before babies anyways) and so I guess it isn’t going to melt away in 2 months. 🙂  But more then how my body has changed, I feel better and have more energy.  I’ve always worked out 3-5 days a week most of my life but working out a consistent 6 has really heightened my energy levels, and I just feel better which helps me to be a better wife, mommy, and business owner.

Hopefully, this will help someone else.  I made little journal notes daily or weekly about the things I experienced as I started  the program but I felt that might be too detailed so I just wanted to give a general review.  I’ll let you know how I finish up in 2 1/2 weeks! 😀

PS…Mike’s been doing it too for about a month now.  He hasn’t lost weight either but has got down a pant size and is lookin’ pretty fine. 🙂 But overall, we both frequently talk about how good we feel which I think is the most important of all!

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you Lost any Weight on Insanity?

  1. I know what you mean… I’m doing P90X and while the numbers on the scale are going down it’s not fast enough to suit me. The “mom belly” is so easy to get and so hard to get rid of… it doesn’t seem fair. Take encouragement from the measurements and chuck the scale.. (If it’s in the garbage the temptation to weigh yourself decreases significantly) Good Luck and Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

