Chickpea Curry with Greens

I like healthy food.  But I love yummy food!  I love this dish because it is both.

Last year, on a trip to Ikea my friend Amy told me about this recipe.  (Little did I know in just 6 months I’d be living 20 minutes from an Ikea. 😀 ) I think it is my go to favorite recipe when I need something fast, healthy, and delicious.

She gave me the recipe using Spinach but lately I’ve been on a kale kick.  I love the kale because you don’t need to use as much, and it adds a crunchy bite to the dish.

Chickpea Curry with Greens

  • 1 T Olive Oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 2 t curry powder
  • 1 t red pepper
  • 1 t ginger
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 can tomatoes
  • 1 bag of spinach or 3 good handfuls of kale

Heat olive oil in skillet.  Saute onion till translucent.  Add garlic and seasonings.  Saute for 1 minute.  Add the rest of the ingredients and heat until greens are wilted. 

I love it topped with a little smoked paprika.

You can serve over cous cous or rice for a little more substance.  I have eaten it 4x this week with a protein shake since I’m trying to add more protein in my diet right now while I do Insanity.

I just really like the frothy bubbles in this picture so that’s why I included my beverage. 🙂

And only a Mom would suck the spice off chickpea by chickpea so her daughter can enjoy it too!

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chickpea Curry with Greens

  1. Yummmm…I am going to try this soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

