Chocolate Mousse Cake

One of my favorite restaurant desserts is Longhorn’s Chocolate Stampede.

One Memorial Day, I decided to recreate it at home.  It turned out exceptionally yummy and is now one of my favorite cakes to make.  In fact, I made it this past Memorial Day and had several requests for the recipe so I decided to post it.

Decorated very corny festive for this Memorial Day.  No matter how corny it looked though, it tasted yummy.

It is several steps but it is worth it!

Recipe:

Filling-Chocolate Mouse:

  • 8 (1 ounce) squares semi sweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup water, divided
  • 2 tablespoons butter (no substitutes)
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups whipping cream, whipped

In a microwave or double boiler, heat chocolate, 1/4 cup water and butter until the chocolate and butter are melted. (If warming in the microwave, 2 minutes on 1/2 power is best.) Cool for 10 minutes. In a small heavy saucepan, whisk egg yolks, sugar and remaining water. Cook and stir over low heat until mixture reaches 160 degrees F, about 1-2 minutes. Remove from the heat; whisk in chocolate mixture. Set saucepan in ice and stir until cooled, about 5-10 minutes. Fold in whipped cream. . Refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight. (Very important step!)

Cake

  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water or coffee (I like to use a strong coffee or a 1/2 and 1/2 mixture.)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour two 9 inch cake pans.
  2. Use the first set of ingredients to make the cake. In a medium bowl, stir together the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add the eggs, milk, oil and vanilla, mix for 3 minutes with an electric mixer. Stir in the boiling water by hand. Pour evenly into the two prepared pans.
  3. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to cool completely.
  4. Then place cakes in fridge for 2-4 hours.

Icing-Choclate Ganache

**I take a short cut here, because I can’t tell the difference in taste. It’s worth this time-saving step.

  • 1 Tub Cool Whip
  • 6 oz. semi sweet chocolate

Microwave on High for 2-2 1/2 minutes.  Stir until melted and combined completely.  Refrigerate for 30 mins. 

Assembly:

Place one cake layer on a cake plate.  Top with Chocolate Mousse.  Then top with 2nd cake.  Ice with Chocolate Ganache icing.  Shave Dark Chocolate on top of cake.

Serve with Vanilla Ice Cream and Enjoy!

(It is imperative to follow the refrigeration process.  I’ve tried to do short cuts before and ended up with a mess!  A yummy mess but a collapsed cake that I was embarrassed to serve.)

Now Jess, please post your Fruited Buttercream Cake. My other favorite cake.

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Mousse Cake

  1. Jessica says:

    Haha. My fruited buttercream is boxed!!! But imwill definitely post the assembly and the buttercream recipe.

  2. Leigh says:

    Hello! Thank you for posting this. It is my hubby’s favorite cake! I have tried to make this 2 times now following the directions to a T. I can’t get the darn thing to stay!!! The top layer always wants to float and slide around. Any suggestions?!?
    Thanks!
    Leigh

    • dennyfamily says:

      Leigh, I know this is months later so I’m not even sure you will get this but I find refrigerating my cake, mouse and icing help it to stay better. Honestly, I’m not known for my pretty cakes….only my yummy ones. 🙂

      • Leigh says:

        Thank you. I actually started to play with it and froze it after assembling it. Pull it out about 10 mins before serving and it almost have a ice cream affect. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

