Waiting Here for You

Ever had one of those days where you are just weary and have a heavy spirit? I had 1 of those days on Saturday.

I didn’t have any major life catastrophe but life was just burdening me.  I wasn’t feeling well, and I’m embarrassed to say my sick feelings stemmed from a work out!  A work out that was so tough my muscles ached like I had the flu. Mike had to work on Saturday-a complete bummer.  And I’m really burdened about schooling for Luke, especially since we are talking about starting him this fall.  There are SO many factors to consider.  I want to check my heart and make sure my motives and reasons for homeschooling him are pure and that is really what God wants for him, me, and our family.  It’s a huge decision!  I was just burdened.

I spent most of Saturday propped up on the couch watching movies with the kids and even ordered pizza for lunch.  This is so unlike us. Yes, I really wasn’t feeling well so its okay to do that when that happens.  But I was letting my burdens consume me and weigh on my spirit.

We managed to get every one ready for church that night but as I was getting in the car I looked at Mike and said, “I don’t want to go.  I just don’t! I don’t feel good.  And I don’t feel like going!” (Wah! Wah!  You see the problem in all those statements, right? I!!) He assured me that a Non Fat Green Tea Frap No Whip would make me feel better so he’d swing by the drive thru on the way to church. (Yes, he is an amazing man!)  He was right! 🙂

But the real breakthrough came during worship.  We were in a quiet moment and I was just praising the Lord.  I noticed that heavy, anxious spirit was being transformed to a heart of peace as I worshipped.  Then I was reminded of that verse, “Be strong, take heart, and wait for the Lord.”  I found myself wishing I would have waited for the Lord much early in the day then spending my day with a down spirit. Wishing I would have taken my eyes off me and looked towards Him that morning instead of wasted my entire day down and practically sulking.

Our worship leader then began reading Isiah 40:31, “But those who wait upon the Lord, He will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles;they will run and not grow weary,they will walk and not be faint.” We began singing “Waiting Here for You” by Christy Nockels. (Quite possibly my new favorite song.)

And as we sang we sang the chorus, “Waiting here for you.  With Our Hands lifted high in praise” I was reminded sometimes all we have to do is wait and praise the Lord. That’s when the Lord will give us our strength.  That’s when we will soar on wings like eagles.

My circumstances didn’t change.  But my spirit was completely transformed as I took my eyes off myself, my worries, my concerns and turned them towards the Lord. I love that sometimes all we have to do is wait and praise to have a heavy spirit turned to a heart of peace.

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

