Better Than Ikea Meatballs and Mashed Potatoes

My sister-in-law was here this past weekend, and she asked me to post more recipes on my blog.  So I decided in honor of her, I’d post my “Better than Ikea Meatballs and Mashed Potatoes.” Laura loves Ikea Meatballs and Mashed Potatoes. Who doesn’t?

I made this brown gravy recipe to take to a friend’s for Easter.  I had about half leftover.  It was really good so I decided to freeze it. Well, when I was thinking about making these for dinner I thought this gravy would be perfect.

The Meatballs

1 lb. ground sirloin

1/2 medium onion chopped finely

1/2 cup milk

1 egg

1/2 cup bread crumbs.

1 T parsley

Mix egg and milk together. Then mix with your hands and shape into golf ball size balls.  Cook in 1 T Olive Oil on Medium High for 8-10 minutes.  Turning half way through.

I made the meatballs early in the afternoon and put them in the fridge till dinner. At dinner time, I just threw the frozen gravy into the pan and cooked on low till warm.  Then I added the meatballs to the gravy to warm them up.

Mashed Potatoes

This is the greatest mashed potato recipe. The key is 3 things: creamer potatoes, cream cheese, and warm ingredients.  I usually use red potatoes but I tried Baby Golden Potatoes.  They were delicious!  Maybe even better than the red potatoes.

Dice 1 1/2 lbs. Potatoes and Boil in SALTED water 20-30 minutes till tender.

Warm 3/4 cup milk (I use Fat Free), 2 T of butter (real butta is best! 🙂 ), 2 oz of cream cheese (I use 1/3 less fat).  (This step is imperative!!  Cold milk and butter result in pastey mashed potatoes-yuck!!)

Mix or Mash (We prefer mixed in my Kitchen Aid.) Add Kosher Salt and Fresh Ground Pepper to Taste.

Serve with Whole Cranberry Sauce.  Ikea serves theirs with Lingdonberry Sauce.  Honestly, there isn’t much of a difference except price to me between the 2.

(Okra fries and ketchup on the side because I was craving them.  Green beans or Steamed Broccoli would have probably been better with the meal.)

Yummy!!  Even both my children cleared their plates.  That’s saying something! 🙂

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better Than Ikea Meatballs and Mashed Potatoes

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks girl!! I feel honored. Will definatley be making this sometime next week. I know any recipe of yours is amazing. Especially if it is blog worthy.

  2. jodi says:

    Not sure if these were better than Ikea mashed potatoes – I think those have crack in them to make them so amazing – but they were easily the best I have ever made. I used the neufchatel cheese as well, redskin potatoes, skin on, and threw in some parsley just to make it pretty. Great, easy recipe. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

