Offended by the Lord?

Faith.

That word carries so much depth.  We are doing a 4 week series on faith now in life group.  Its amazing the depth, meaning, truth, conviction, open-endedness (I know this isn’t a  word but go with it) of that simple word: faith.

I often wonder if we really moved here in faith.  Would it have taken more faith to turn this job down and trust for the Lord to bring us provision at home?  Or did it take more faith to take this job and transplant our family in a new city?  I will admit I’ve had thoughts that maybe we just took the easy way out.  We could have stayed in the place we loved with the people we loved and trusted God to provide for us.  Instead, we just followed the job.

I know without question choosing to stay in Charleston would have been disobedience, though.  There is no faith involved in disobedience.  Faith came when we obediently followed God’s leading and came despite our kicking and screaming.

Faith came when we believed that God was in control.  Though we may not see the big picture, He does.  All we had to do was obey and trust.

I remember thinking, in the back of my head,  since we obeyed then the Lord would almost immediately reveal to us why he brought us here.  Ha!  It’s a childish thought.  But I really did have that thought.  Did it happen?  Ummmm….no.  Quite the opposite.

From finances to finding a church to meeting friends nothing happened the way I thought it should.  I found myself asking the Lord so many times, “Was this you?”  and even in my moments of desperation, “Where are you?”

Do you know what got me through those tough moments?  Remembering what God had done for us.  Dwelling on the provision and blessings he had given us.  I love in Micah, “My people, remember what Balak king of Maab counseled and what Balaam son of Beor answered. Remember your journey of Shittim to Gilgal that you may know the righteous acts of the Lord.” Micah 6:5

Too often, we get discouraged or even offended by God because he doesn’t do what we think he should.

My dad and I were talking about this last weekend, and he shared a teaching with me that changed his life!  It has changed mine too because I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it all week.

Matt 11:2-3 “When John heard in prison what Christ was doing, he sent his disciples to ask him, “Are you the one who was to come, or should we expect someone else?”

Stop!!  John the Baptist is asking Jesus if he is really the Messiah?!?!?! John the Baptist, the guy who prepared the way for Jesus, is questioning whether Jesus is who he says he is?  John dedicated his life to the Lord-lived in the desert, ate locust and honey, never married, preach and walked the good news.  He was questioning the Lord?!?!

Why?  He began doubting  Jesus because he wasn’t delivering him from prison like he thought he should.

I love the Lord’s answer!!!

“Jesus replied, Go back and report to John what you hear and see.  The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cured, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is preached to the poor. Blessed is the man who does not fall away on account of me.” Matt 11:6

Mike and I looked up this weekend the KJV version of that scripture and it says, “And blessed is he, whosover shall not be offended by me.”

Wow!!!  Too often we are actually offended by God because He isn’t doing what we think He should.  When what we should be doing is focusing on what He has done!!!!  “The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cured, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is preached to the poor!!!!”

One day in January, I felt so discouraged and down.  We were getting hit with unexpected bills left and right, we had barely had gotten any jobs since we moved, we hadn’t made any friends,  my easy baby had been crying for 3 weeks straight (we figured out later it was nursing problems) etc, etc, etc. What got me through that day was reading that verse Micah 6:5.  The Lord prompted my spirit to make a list of what He had done for us.  I began jotting things down and dwelling on it.  When I’d have a hard moment, I’d sit down and read that list.  And thank God for what He had done and what He was doing!!!

Don’t ever be offended by the Lord because He isn’t doing what we think He should.  Instead, dwell on what He has done!!

In honor, of thanking the Lord of what He has done I’m going to post several times this week how God ministered to me through the process of our relocation. Starting this afternoon…

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Offended by the Lord?

  1. Jessica says:

    Great word Erin! Jason spoke on this yesterday with a phenomenal message. It’s a must listen podcast! We studied the story of jehosephat in 2 Chor 20. So key to remember where tonput our focus. Miss you!! Thanks for sharing these great words of wisdom!

  2. Annie Overman says:

    Preach it girl! What an encouragement, thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Taste and See |

Leave a Reply

