Whip It Up Wednesday..

(Into shape….Its not too late…. To Whip it! I love 80’s music!)

I like to cook.  I like to eat good food.  Thankfully, my 2 enjoyments complement each other nicely.  But I don’t like spending hours in the kitchen and doing dishes.  I suppose if there was a dish cleaning fairy I wouldn’t mind spending hours dirtying up every spatula and dish I own.  But unfortunately, that fairy doesn’t exist, and I’m left with the work.

So I rarely make meals that take me more than  20-30 minutes of prep time with little clean up.   Maybe, once a month I’ll get in the kitchen and spend a few hours making an elaborate meal completed with an appetizer and dessert.  And I enjoy that day!  It’s a stress reliever.  And I love feeding my family a great meal they really enjoy.

But most of the time I keep it simple.  I still like to keep it healthy and tasty, though.  So I  usually cook meals with fresh, quality ingredients that seem time consuming but really don’t take much effort.

We have had 2 of my favorites this week so I wanted to share…

Nachos

Mike and I eat nachos pratically every Sunday night.  Its not really a tradition but we both end up craving them on Sunday nights. This week I wanted something a little different so I made up this recipe, and I don’t think we’ll ever be eating a basic nacho again!

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup frozen corn, defrosted

1 cup rotel, drained

Couple of Handfuls of Chips

Fresh Grated Pepper Jack Cheese

Cilantro

avocado

Greek Yogurt

Mix first 3 ingredients in bowl.  Spread chips out in a single layer on a baking sheet.  Top with 1/3 of the mixture.  Then sprinkle with fresh grated Pepper Jack Cheese. Bake at 350 for 8-12 minutes-until cheese is melted and chips are crispy.  Top with diced avocado and chopped cilantro.  And serve with a dollop of greek yogurt or sour cream.

The best part of the meal is we were able to use the black bean mixture 3 times this week!  Love that kind of cooking-where we can make it once and eat it again.

Black Bean Corn Salsa

I took the rest of the Black bean corn dip and added the following to it:

(Loving evenings on the deck with yummy food and a good magazine while the children play!)

1 small tomato diced

1 jalepeno, seeded and diced

fresh snipped cilantro

1/2 avocado, diced

1/2 lime, juiced

a sprinkle of kosher salt

pepper

Mix it together and serve with Pita Chips or Tortilla Chips! Yummy!

Then the next day I threw the rest of the dip on top of grilled tuna steaks served with snow peas seasoned with olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper!!  So Yummy!

Our Family’s Favorite….

(This isn’t a great picture of any of us-especially me!!!  But funny story, we were playing at this fountain this weekend while out picking up the kids a few new spring outfits with coupons.  A lady came up to us and said you guys are such a beautiful family.  Do you have an iphone or something so I can take your picture?!?  Sweet.  But definitely made us laugh, especially when we saw the picture.  Beautiful?  The other 3 definately are!!! Photogenic?  Not so much!!)

Pita Pizzas

We ended up grilling the pizzas this time, and they were superb!  But I’m still working on times so I’m going to post the oven method.

Whole Wheat Pita

Jarred Tomato Sauce (We like Classico)

Fresh Sliced Mozzarella

Fresh Grate Parmesan

Sprinkle of Oregano and Basil

Brush Pita with Olive Oil on Both Sides.  Bake in a 425 oven for 2 -3 minutes on each side. Take Pita Out.  And turn oven down to 350.  Top with toppings and bake for another 5-10 minutes till cheese is melted and bubbling.

My Pizza toppings were a little different as usual!!  And so yummy:

1/2 T jarred pesto

1 Sliced Roma Tomato

Spinach Leaves

Goat Cheese

Fresh Sliced Mozzarella

Next time I really wanted toasted pine nuts to garnish but they are so expensive!!

Good eats.  Little Time.  Taste Superb.  Key: Fresh, Quality Ingredients.

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

