Happy Green Day!

I don’t have very many memories of my mom.  She passed away when I was 7.  The few I do have are mostly the tragic ones associated with her cancer.  Those moments are etched in my mind and were very impressionable to a 7 year old.

Thankfully, I do have a few great memories of her.  Plus I have videos and family who can tell about her.  She was an awesome woman of God and loved Adam and I fiercely.  I know that!  One of the great memories I have of her is how she gave the best parties and she made holidays and birthdays so special.

She threw me many fabulous parties.  One of my favorites was my bunny party!  We did the bunny hop, a bunny visited our party, ate carrot sticks and celery, the whole thing!  Every year, Adam wanted a King David party.  We dressed in our biblical costumes, shot marshmallows at a paper goliath, sang praise and worship songs…..no detail was left out!

Birthdays and holidays were the same. She always had great activities planned and made us feel so special. I always wanted to carry that tradition on for my children.

I think that is one of the main reasons I was balling in the hospital when I found out Luke would be born on Christmas Day.  Because let’s face it, no child can have their own special day complete with candles on their breakfast waffles if their birthday is Christmas.  So Mike and I have chosen to celebrate Luke’s 1/2 birthday for him.

His 1/2 Birthday Celebration last year.  We did the whole thing-candles in his waffles, the Children’s Museum, Cheesegerbers (Luke’s pronunciation), fro-yo, and gifts!

I want to make holidays special for my children too.  I want them to have great memories like I do.  Wish my memories weren’t cut so short…. (But I’m thankful for a Father who redeemed what was lost and gave me my mom, Patty.  I seriously, couldn’t imagine my real mom being any greater than the mom God has blessed me with!!)

So today, inspired by my wonderful mother I planned fun activities for the kids and I:

  • a green breakfast
  • green gag gifts for the kids
  • the story of St. Patrick complete with coloring sheets
  • green shamrock cookies
  • shamrock sandwiches for lunch
  • a st.patty’s day dinner

But it has been one of those weeks.  Elle is teething.  She is usually a trooper through teething but she is having a hard time-crying, screaming, wants to be held then refuses.  We all have sinuses or colds.  I find myself jokingly singing “Jesus take the wheel.”  But in all honesty, I really mean it.  🙂

So, all the planned activities pretty much were forgotten and replaced with nothing really.  Just trying to make it through.

We did manage to have:
Green Smoothies for Breakfast.  Luke even had 3rds!  This has been a great way to get healthy foods in my picky eater.

My favorite green smoothie:

6 frozen strawberries

3 handfuls of spinach

1 orange, peeled

2 T flax seed

1 banana

3/4 cup raw oats

1 Cup or so of Almond Milk

Blend.  Serve in a bowl and top with toppings.  Our favorite toppings are peanut butter, coconut, granola, and fresh sliced fruit.

The story of St. Patrick consisted of, “St. Patrick was a Christian missionary.” 🙂

Still served the dinner of corn beef and cabbage and irish soda bread.

That’s it.  That’s all we got to.  No cookies, gifts, coloring sheets, or elaborate stories.

Oh well, we did what worked for us today!  Hopefully, we made a great memory when we walked to Publix after Mike got home and let Luke pick out any dessert he wanted.  He chose Rocky Road Ice Cream, and tightly gripped it the whole walk home.

I’m so thankful for the little time I had with my mom.  Even though my memories are few, she has inspired me in so many ways as a mother-some ways I’m sure I don’t even realize.  But one thing is for sure, she has inspired me to cherish every moment God has given me with my children.

 

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Green Day!

  1. SimplyMom says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your memories with us Erin. Your mom is beautiful! It’s so special that you have so much of her in you to carry on those special memories with your own children. Even if today wasn’t storybook perfect, it was special for your little ones. I’m sure there were things that weren’t perfect when your mom was planning those parties–but maybe the ability to improvise is something you have learned from her as well. 🙂

    • dennyfamily says:

      Thanks, Bekah!! I too think I got my tendencies to plan and try to be creative but go with the flow when it doesn’t work from her. Thankful to have her as my mom!!!

  2. Annie Overman says:

    Aw! What a sweet post. Your mom would be/is so proud of you, I’m sure!! She has certainly inspired you to be quite the super-mom in my book. I’m almost glad to hear that you didn’t accomplish your list because I was amazed you were creative enough to even think of all those things! Henry didn’t even have on any green today.. he wore a Gator shirt to be ready to cheer for our basketball team tonight! (that would be and orange and blue gator, not a green gator unfortunately!)

    • dennyfamily says:

      Haha, Annie! It’s called google….”St. Patrick’s Day activities for kids.” Makes it so easy these days to appear creative. 😉 Sure Henry was so cute!!

  3. Julie Nichols says:

    Wow, Erin! You’ve made me cry today. You know I loved your Mom very much and, yes, you are like her in many ways. Thanks for sharing your sweet memories. I think of her often.

Leave a Reply

