Is it really February???

It’s hard to believe that Atlanta had one of the coldest winters in years.  We spent most of November till just a few weeks ago inside our home.  There is only so much chili you can stomach, tents you can build, hot chocolate you can guzzle, taped nick jr. shows you can watch (we don’t have cable), and books you can read before you start getting cabin fever.  (I think being stuck indoors ALL the time is what contributed to me having such a hard time this winter.)

But we have gone from this……

What do people from the beach play with in the snow???

Sand Toys!

And Surf Boards!

To this…..

76 Degrees today and BEAUTIFUL!  Hello Legs!!

The last few weeks of February have been gorgeous!  I’m so grateful.  I think the Lord did it for us. 🙂  And this weekend was no different.

Saturday morning my Dad’s cousin (my second cousin or is it cousin once removed??), Gina, treated us to an early lunch at Garrison’s in Vinings!  It was great to visit and chat with her and her boyfriend, Andy.  We hadn’t seen her since we moved here so we really enjoyed catching up.

Vinings is a really nice area of town near our house.  The restaurant was located in this shopping plaza, Vinings Jubilee.

We’ve driven past the shopping center several times but have never strolled through.  So after lunch, we did a little window shopping.

Came home.  Laid Elle down for her nap.  And Luke and Daddy played some basketball.

Then Luke got Picasso on us 😦

Let me preface this by saying, Luke has never done anything like this.  I can leave him alone downstairs while I’m upstairs cleaning, and he has never gotten into anything. But I guess there is a first time for everything!

We are renting this house. So these 2 buckets were here when we came.  I decided not to mess with them and just let them stay put.  I thought they were sealed, and honestly, have never paid much attention to them.

Mike and I were upstairs on the deck working while Luke played underneath.  We were happily enjoying our quiet moments to knock some work out when Luke came up the stairs COVERED in white paint!!  “Luke!!  Why are you covered in white paint?”  “I was just painting, Daddy.” “Where?” “Downstairs.”

We stripped Luke down and Mike carried him upstairs to give him a bath. Then I went to check out the damage.  I could not believe it.  There was paint from the very top of the fence all over the ground.  I’m still not sure what his “artist tool” was but he flung paint everywhere!  Thankfully, it was nothing the jet stream of the water hose couldn’t remove.  And it didn’t ruin his clothes!!

After that ordeal, we headed to church.  Allen Griffin  was the guest speaker, and I felt like I was back at Kinetic youth camp or convention!  He brought a great message on Elisha and dreams we’ve let die.  You can access it online at our Church’s website.

Then we met up with our new friends (yes, we have local friends now!!) for dinner, Tim & Beth and their little girl, Presleigh & Michael and Ashlee and their 2 children, Rhyce and Maci.  We went to a great Italian restaurant in Douglasville.  The fellowship and food were great!  We are so thankful that God is bringing great people into our lives!

(And yes, I felt like I was on a mini vacation having a closed kitchen for 2 meals in one day!!!)

Mike’s weekly “Pancake Saturday” got moved to Sunday since we met Andy & Gina for an early lunch Saturday.

My husband makes some phenomenal pancakes!

After breakfast, we loaded up the troops and headed to Sweetwater Creek State Park.  The weather was a beautiful 76 degrees, and the 3 mile hike was so scenic!

We kept saying I can’t believe this place is only 15 minutes from our house and just a short drive outside the city!!

It reminded Mike of his mission trip to Montana.

He loves his Daddy!

Yes, carrying an extra 16 lbs. on this hike was quite the work out!

3 of my favorite people!

New Manchester Mill destroyed during the Civil War by General Sherman.

Amazing Scenery.  The hike got quite steep in some places and there were some drop offs into rapids but Luke held Daddy’s hand the whole way and Elle was strapped to me so we were safe! 🙂

Luke skipping rocks.

Babies have it easy.  Carried the entire way.  And fed.

And Luke sang “Oh How He Loves Us” the Whole Hike!

(Video coming soon, grandparents.  Can’t figure out how to upload from my phone to my imovie to the blog.  I’m sure Mike will save the day!)

We were all famished after our 3 miles (of sometime very difficult terrain) so we headed to the picnic shelter to replenish our energy.

Luke asked me for a tuna fish sandwich when I was packing lunches.  He licked the tuna off the bread!! At least, he was eating. 🙂

Elle is no longer interested in her baby food so I packed her small pieces of strawberries, cheese, and broccoli.  She ate everything!!

Then we headed to the playground.  As if, Luke had more energy he needed to release! But of course, he did.

Came home exhausted from a fun and beautiful weekend!

Praise the LORD. Praise the LORD from the heavens, praise him in the heights above.  2Praise him, all his angels, praise him, all his heavenly hosts.  3 Praise him, sun and moon, praise him, all you shining stars.  4 Praise him, you highest heavens and you waters above the skies.  5 Let them praise the name of the LORD, for he commanded and they were created.  6He set them in place for ever and ever; he gave a decree that will never pass away.  7 Praise the LORD from the earth, you great sea creatures and all ocean depths,  8 lightning and hail, snow and clouds, stormy winds that do his bidding,  9 you mountains and all hills, fruit trees and all cedars,  10 wild animals and all cattle, small creatures and flying birds,  11 kings of the earth and all nations, you princes and all rulers on earth,  12 young men and maidens, old men and children.  13 Let them praise the name of the LORD, for his name alone is exalted; his splendor is above the earth and the heavens.  14 He has raised up for his people a horn, the praise of all his saints, of Israel, the people close to his heart. Praise the LORD.
— Psalm 148

About dennyfamily

Happily Married with 2 Wonderful Children.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is it really February???

  1. Aron says:

    I love reading your blogs! You write so well. My ramblings no where near as awesome as yours!!! You are such an amazing mom and awesome woman of God. You inspire me! So glad you guys had a wonderful weekend. Which we had places to hike locally around here!

    • dennyfamily says:

      Aron Hainline!!! You are crazy!! What did I say in my post about school?? I don’t want anyone to compare themselves to me! I loved your blog. Read it tonight!! But thank you so much for the encouragement!

  2. Kathy Moock says:

    It was beautiful here today, too.
    You are awesome. Your kids are really blessed to have parents that love them so much & who truly love the LORD. Enjoy them, they grow up sooo fast. GOd bless all of you.

Leave a Reply

